## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF STATEWIDE 9-1-1 BOARD

The September 11, 2017 meeting of the Board of Directors ("the Board") of the Statewide 911 Board was held at the Market Tower Conference Center, located at 10 West Market Street, Indianapolis, Indiana, pursuant to a call and notice, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "A". The meeting notice and agenda were posted in accordance with the Indiana Open Door Law.

Present In-Person:

Kelly Mitchell, Chair Doug Carter Greg Hohlier Brad Meixell Kevin McGuire Jeff Schemmer Mark Myers Matthew Kelley

Bryan Langley-advisory only

Present Electronically: Shane Rekeweg

Also present were Ed Reuter, Executive Director; Laurel Simmermeyer, Deputy Director; Jennifer Haag, Project Manager; Mark Grady, INdigital telecom; Joel McCamley, 911 Authority; Clay Miller, Bamberger, Oswald & Hahn; Lauren Box, Barnes & Thornburg; David Vice, IPCS; Delvan Roehling.

Chair Mitchell called the meeting to order at 10:20 am and declared a quorum was present with ten (10) members present in-person for the purposes of Indiana Code 5-1.5-2-4.

Next, the Board considered the minutes of the June 13, 2017 Board meeting. Upon a motion made by Matthew Kelley and seconded by Kevin McGuire, the minutes were approved (9-0) by roll call, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Chair Mitchell and Ed Reuter present Wes Bennett with a plaque for his service as a member of the board.

Next, Chair Mitchell and Ed Reuter introduced the newly appointed board members, Jeff Schemmer and Mark Myers.

Delvan Roehling presented the financial report for the period ending June 30, 2017.

Ed Reuter reported an update to the board about the minimum training standards guidelines consideration. Ed stated that training standards committee members, Jim Geerson, Brad Meixell, Terri Brooks, Jeff Schemmer, Shane Rekeweg, Doug Carter, Mike Snowden, Mike Watkins, Adam McCartney, and Chair Mitchell had reviewed the proposed consideration prior to the meeting. Upon a motion made by Brad Meixell and seconded by Jeff Schemmer, to accept the training standards guidelines was approved (9-0) by roll call, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Next, Chair Mitchell and Jennifer Haag presented a report on the Lifeline Law campaign.

Next, Laurel reported an update on the MEVO phone, Language Line, and continuing education projects to the board.

Next, Ed presented (1) one request from Randolph County requesting board approval to use local 911 funds to pay for their respective Emergency Notification System. On a motion made by Brad Meixell and seconded by Terri Brooks, the approval was granted (10-0) by roll call, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Next, Joel McCamley from 911 Authority and Mark Grady from INdigital telecom presented an update on network operations and network build.

Next, Lauren Box from Barnes & Thornburg provided the board with a legal update on information related to the matters of litigation and proceedings at the FCC.

Ed Reuter provided the Executive Director's Report which included information on:

Standard Operating Procedures-Ed reported to the board that he has been creating SOPs.

Ritter Strategic Services—Ed reported to the board that a contract has been signed with Ritter Strategic Services for one year.

Board Members Reappointed—Ed announced that the Governor has reappointed Greg Hohlier, Stephan Reid, and Brad Meixell to the board.

911.gov Pilot Program- Ed announced that Indiana was invited to be in a pilot program along with several other states.

Text to 911 Services- Ed reported on numbers for the past 12 months of Text to 911 and that 519,940 text sessions have taken place since May 2014 when Text to 911 was deployed.

PSAP recognition- Ed recognized Connie Poer for her service to Indiana State Police. Ed also recognized IFD dispatcher for life saving efforts in July. Ed also recognized White County dispatchers for their quick thinking and life saving efforts also in July. Ed also recognized Garland Malone for her dedication and 27 years of service to Orange County.

With no other business to come before the board the meeting was adjourned at 11:20 am.

Edward A. Reuter
Edward A. Reuter, Executive Director

## Exhibit "B"

## **Roll Call Vote Sheet**

## **Board Meeting Date:** September 11, 2017

Board Member	Minutes	Training Standard Guidelines
Terri Brooks	Y N A	Y N A
Doug Carter	Y N A	Y N A
Jim Greeson	Y N A	Y N A
Matthew Kelley	Y N A	Y N A
Greg Hohlier	Y N A	Y N A
Kevin McGuire	Y N A	Y N A
Mark Myers	Y N A	Y N A
Brad Meixell	Y N A	Y N A
Kevin Overmeyer	Y N A	Y N A
Stephen Reid	Y N A	Y N A
Shane Rekeweg	Y N A	Y N A
Jeff Schemmer	Y N A	Y N A
Kelly Mitchell	Y N A	Y N A