#### MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF STATEWIDE 9-1-1 BOARD

The September 10, 2019 meeting of the Board of Directors ("the Board") of the Statewide 911 Board was held at the Market Tower Conference Center, located at 10 W Market Street, Indianapolis, Indiana, pursuant to a call and notice, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "A". The meeting notice and agenda were posted in accordance with the Indiana Open Door Law.

Board Members Present In-Person

Kelly Mitchell, Chair Terri Brooks, ENP Tracy Brown Mike White (proxy Doug Carter) Megan Compton Dwane Ford Greg Hohlier Matthew Kelley

Jeff Groh (proxy Bryan Langley) Kevin McGuire Jeff Schemmer

Also present were: Ed Reuter, Executive Director Laurel Simmermeyer, Deputy Dir. Teresa Russell, Ex Asst/Program Mgr. Lauren Box, Barnes & Thornburg Craig Bennett, AT&T

Mark Grady, INdigital telecom Jim Halsmer, Word Systems Eric Hartman, INdigital telecom Gail Karas, Fulton Co 911 Ryan Locke, ITOS Shane Rekeweg, INdigital Delvan Roehling, Board Accountant Catherine Seat, ITOS Janyll Stierwalt, Word Systems Jared Teaney, Dearborn Co 911

Chair Mitchell called the meeting to order at 11:17 a.m. and declared a quorum with 11 members present for the purposes of Indiana Code 5-1.5-2-4.

First, the Board considered the minutes for the June 11, 2019 Board meeting. A motion to accept the minutes was made by Jeff Schemmer and seconded by Dwane Ford. The minutes were approved (9-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

The Board then considered the minutes for two System Review Committee meetings held on July 26, 2019 and August 30, 2019. A motion to accept the minutes was made by Tracy Brown and seconded by Kevin McGuire. The minutes were approved (9-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Delvan Roehling then presented the financial report for the period ending June 30, 2019.

Next, Executive Director Ed Reuter presented an Emergency Notification System purchase requests from Jefferson County. A motion was made to allow the purchase by Terri Brooks and seconded by Jeff Schemmer. The request was granted (9-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Shane Rekeweg from INdigital presented an update on the network operations.

Ed Reuter then read a statement from Joel McCamley of 911 Authority regarding the network build.

Afterwards, Tracy Brown gave the Systems Review Committee Report. He then presented *Resolution No. 2019-3: Imposing Adjustment to the Monthly Recurring Charges paid to INdigital* for consideration. Matthew Kelley made a motion to approve the resolution and Dwane Ford seconded. Tracy Brown also presented *Resolution No. 2019-4: Determining Amount of Adjustment to the Monthly Recurring Charges paid to INdigital* for consideration. Again, Matthew Kelley made a motion to approve the resolution and Dwane Ford seconded.

Lauren Box, Attorney from Barnes & Thornburg, had no legal updates to share.

Next, Ed Reuter provided the Executive Director's report in which he gave information on the following:

- Training/Continuing Education: From January 2018-August 2019, 80 agencies representing 66 counties have participated in the training program. There have been 3,307 certification and recertifications, saving the PSAPs/local authorities \$738K. The CMCP Training course funded by the Board was incredibly well received.
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual Director's Training Summit: Wednesday, September 25<sup>th</sup> at the Marriott East in Indianapolis. Currently have 155 Director/Deputy Directors registered representing 95 agencies.
- AT&T Update: Cutovers will begin on April 21, 2020 for 55 PSAPs. Completion date is September 10, 2020.
- Federal Grant: Award letter received Aug 9, 2019. Grant will benefit 29 PSAPs.
- PSAP Visits: Ed has now visited all 92 counties.
- Social Media: Our Facebook page has seen a 79% increase in page likes since January 1, 2019.
- Fairs and Festivals/LifeLine Campaign: Advertising campaigns with Emmis Communications have been very successful.

Ed Reuter then recognized the following PSAPs:

- Tipton County: Dispatchers Sara Nelson and Renee Grimme went above and beyond to help a caller who was struggling to breathe and unable to talk.
- Porter County: The quick response of dispatchers Ashely Kupianinen and Lauren Blakeley, just a few weeks out of training, assisted officers in apprehending the subject of a robbery by gunpoint.
- Marshall County: Dispatchers Les Trump, Adam Kraning, Director Matthew Pitney and Sgt. Brett Reinhold communicated with several agencies after a vehicle was carjacked, helping to locate the subject.
- Lake County: Dispatcher Jacqulynn Wheeler received a Life Saving Commendation after giving Telephone CPR.
- Jennings County: Aaron, age 9, and Brynna, age 6, called 911 and spoke to dispatcher Sandra Pennycuff when their grandfather had fallen and was unconscious.
- Indiana NENA: Received the Chapter Challenge Award at the 2018 AND 2019 National NENA conferences for recruiting the most, new members.

With no other business to come before the Board a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Jeff Schemmer and seconded by Kevin McGuire. The meeting was adjourned at 12:06 p.m.

 $\overline{}$ 0

Edward A. Reuter, Executive Director

Exhibit "A"

### Statewide 911 Board 10 West Market St. Suite 2420 Indianapolis, IN 46204 Office (317) 234-8362 Fax (317) 233-0894

The Honorable Kelly Mitchell Indiana State Treasurer Chair

# Public Meeting Notice of the Statewide 911 Board

The Statewide 911 Board gives notice pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-5(a) that the Board will meet on **Tuesday**, **September 10, 2019 immediately following the executive session (10 a.m. EST)** to transact such business as may come before it. The meeting will be held at the following address:

Market Tower 10 West Market St. 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Conference Center Indianapolis, IN 46204

#### Exhibit "B"

#### Vote Sheet

## Board Meeting Date: <u>September 10, 2019</u>

				S	ysten	าร													
	<b>Board Minutes</b>			Review Comm						Resolution			Resolution						
Board Member		6/11/19			Minutes 7/26 &			<b>ENS Request</b>			2019-3			2019-4			Adjourn		
Terri Brooks	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	Ν	А	Y	Ν	Α	Y	Ν	Α	Y	Ν	Α	
Tracy Brown	Y	N	Α	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	Α	Y	Ν	Α	
Mike White (proxy Doug Carter)	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	
Dwane Ford	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	
Matthew Kelley	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	
Greg Hohlier	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	
Kevin McGuire	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	
Kelly Mitchell	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	
Jeff Schemmer	Y	N	А	Y	N	Α	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	N	А	Y	Ν	Α	