#### MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF STATEWIDE 9-1-1 BOARD

The December 8, 2020 meeting of the Board of Directors ("the Board") of the Statewide 911 Board was held virtually via a Zoom Meeting, pursuant to a call and notice, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "A". The meeting notice and agenda were posted in accordance with the Indiana Open Door Law.

**Board Members Present** 

Kelly Mitchell, ChairMegan ComptonBrad Meixell, ENPTerri Brooks, ENPStephen CoxMark MyersTracy BrownGreg HohlierStephen Reid

Larry Jenkins (Proxy: Carter) Matthew Kelley Jeff Schemmer, CMCP

Kevin McGuire

Also known to be present were:

Ed Reuter, Executive Director

Laurel Simmermeyer, Deputy Dir.

Teresa Russell, Program Mgr./ Ex Asst

Lauren Box, Barnes & Thornburg

Jenna Howell, 911 Authority

James Jarvis, CISA

Courtney Knapp, ITOS

Jeff Ledbetter

Craig Bennett, AT&T Ryan Locke, ITOS
Lori Forrer-Beckman, INdigital Joel McCamley, ENP, 911 Authority

Telecom Brian MacMurdo, DataMark

Vicky Bluemke, INdigital Telecom John Milburn
Brian Cherry, LWG Joe Nash, AT&T
Ian Hauer, ITOS Jim Philbin, AT&T

Jim Higgins, LWG Shane Rekeweg, INdigital telecom

Barry Ritter, ENP, Ritter Strategic

Services

Delvan Roehling, Board Accountant Janyll Stierwalt, Word Systems, Inc. Carolea Walters, Marion County 911 Sara Weston, PMP, ENP, 911 Authority

Chair Mitchell called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. and declared a quorum with 12 members present for the purposes of Indiana Code 5-1.5-2-4. (Greg Hohlier joined the meeting after the roll call was taken was taken. When he joined, after the Financial Report, 13 members were present.)

First, the Board considered the minutes for the September 22, 2020 Board meeting. A motion to accept the minutes was made by Jeff Schemmer and seconded by Terri Brooks. The minutes were approved (10-0-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Next, Jim Higgins with London Witte Group presented the findings of the 2020 Audit performed by his office. A motion to accept the report was made by Terri Brooks and seconded by Brad Meixell. The Board approved the motion to accept the audit (10-0-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Delvan Roehling then presented the financial report for the period ending September 30, 2020.

Next, Ed Reuter presented two Emergency Notification System requests for approval. The requests were from Warrick and Jay Counties. Since Board member Dwane Ford (Jay County Sheriff) was not in attendance, one vote was taken for both requests. A motion to approve the ENS purchases was made by Matt Kelley and seconded by Kevin McGuire. The requests were approved (11-0-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B". Because Board member Dwane Ford was not in attendance, it was not necessary to request that he recuse himself from the vote to approve the ENS purchase for Jay County.

Afterwards, Joe Nash, Jim Philbin and Craig Bennett with AT&T presented an AT&T ESInet update for the state of Indiana.

Shane Rekeweg from INdigital then presented an update on the network operations for the third quarter of 2020.

Next, Joel McCamley, ENP, affirmed everything presented by AT&T and INdigital regarding the network build. The State Plan is nearing completion and contracts will be looked at as they are set to expire next year.

Lauren Box, attorney from Barnes & Thornburg, shared that the Board would not be asking any legislators to author legislation on the Board's behalf during the upcoming session.

Ed Reuter then provided the Executive Director's report in which he gave information on the following:

- The Board members have been given a draft of the Statewide Plan and have until January 15<sup>th</sup> to provide feedback on any additions, changes and/or corrections.
- Revenues have continued to remain stable despite the pandemic.
- Through the 90/10 split distribution this year, more than \$16,281,000 was distributed out to the PSAPs. This is the highest 90/10 split distribution to date.
- Concerning the Federal Grant, as of September 30, 2020, we have received 12 requests for reimbursement. Those PSAPs who submitted for reimbursement received \$532,640 in federal match money.
- The staff of the Statewide 911 Board held two virtual training sessions inviting both PSAP directors and auditors to attend. The topics were on Board Funding and Eligible Expense Guidelines, and Annual Reports.
- The staff completed a COVID-19 Report for the first six months of 2020 that reviews the impact on 911 services in the state of Indiana. The report will be distributed to the PSAPs after the board meeting.
- The board meeting dates for 2021 have been set: March 9, June 8, September 14 and December 14.

Ed Reuter concluded his report by recognizing the following PSAPs:

- Marion County: Larry Jefferson was recognized on his retirement from the Marion County Sheriff's 911 Center after 40 years of service.
- Porter County: Anica Seat of Porter County Central Communications was recognized for providing
  instructions so a 13-year-old could perform CPR on the child's mother who was unconscious with agonal
  breathing.
- St. Joseph County: St. Joseph County 911 Telecommunicator Warren Tipton was recognized for his retirement. He had served at the center 23 years.
- LaPorte County: Melissa Elder of LaPorte County 911 was recognized for the help she provided a man who called because his wife was in labor. After providing instructions on how to deliver the baby, Melissa provided CPR instructions when the baby wasn't breathing.
- Jackson County: Seymour PD dispatchers, Kaitlyn Galloway, Alex Moss and Kayla Griffin, were recognized for their efforts when a shoplifting call turned into an officer involved shooting.

With no other business to come before the Board a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Mark Myers and seconded by Kevin McGuire. The motion to end the meeting was approved (11-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B". The meeting was adjourned at 11:11 a.m.

Edward A. Reuter, Executive Director

#### Statewide 911 Board 10 West Market St. Suite 2420 Indianapolis, IN 46204 Office (317) 234-8362 Fax (317) 233-0894

The Honorable Kelly Mitchell Indiana State Treasurer Chair

Public Meeting Notice of the Statewide 911 Board

The Statewide 911 Board gives notice pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-5(a) that the Board will meet on **Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at 10 a.m. EST** to transact such business as may come before it. The meeting will be held virtually:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86316257692?pwd=MGRQZ2F2MDBNRFc4dEg5TXFHYTRKdz09 Passcode: 070984

# Exhibit "B"

### **Vote Sheet**

# **Board Meeting Date:** <u>December 8, 2020</u>

	Board Minutes 9/22/20			London Witte Group Audit								
Board Member							ENS Requests			Adjourn		
Terri Brooks	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Tracy Brown	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Larry Jenkins (Proxy: Carter)	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Dwane Ford	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Greg Hohlier	Υ	N	Α	Υ	Ν	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Matthew Kelley	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Kevin McGuire	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Brad Meixell	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Kelly Mitchell	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Mark Myers	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Stephen Reid	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Jeff Schemmer	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Joel Thacker	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α