MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF STATEWIDE 9-1-1 BOARD

The March 12, 2019 meeting of the Board of Directors ("the Board") of the Statewide 911 Board was held at the Market Tower Conference Center, located at 10 W Market Street, Indianapolis, Indiana, pursuant to a call and notice, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "A". The meeting notice and agenda were posted in accordance with the Indiana Open Door Law.

Board Members Present In-Person

Kelly Mitchell, Chair Jeff Groh (proxy-Langley) Shane Rekeweg Terri Brooks, ENP Greg Hohlier Jeff Schemmer

Tracy Brown Matthew Kelley
Doug Carter Brad Meixell
Jim Greeson Stephen Reid

Board Members Present Electronically:

Megan Compton

Also present were:

Ed Reuter, Executive Director Staci Dungan, SBOA Delvan Roehling, Board Accountant

Laurel Simmermeyer, Deputy Dir. Lori Forrer, INdigital telecom Catherine Seat, ITOS

Adam Kowalkowski, SBOA

Teresa Russell, Ex Asst/Office Mgr
Lauren Box, Barnes & Thornburg

Eric Hartman, INdigital telecom
Janyll Stierwalt, Word Systems
Jim Halsmer, Word Systems

Greg Dixon, Solacom

Barry Ritter, Ritter Strategic Services

Also present electronically:

Norberto Colon, Motorola Solutions

Jim Lockard, 911 Authority Ryan Locke, ITOS

Chair Mitchell called the meeting to order at 10:51 a.m. and declared a quorum with 11 members present inperson for the purposes of Indiana Code 5-1.5-2-4.

First, the Board considered the minutes for the December 18, 2018 Board meeting. A motion to accept the minutes was made by Jeff Schemmer and seconded by Jim Greeson. The minutes were approved (11-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Staci Dungan with the State Board of Accounts presented the list of Ineligible Expenditures submitted by PSAPs for the year ended December 31, 2018.

Delvan Roehling then presented the financial report for the period ending December 31, 2018.

Next, Barry Ritter of Ritter Strategic Services (with Jim Lockard of 911 Authority via electronically) presented an update on the network build.

Eric Hartman from INdigital then presented an update on the network operations.

Lauren Box, Attorney from Barnes & Thornburg, had no legal updates to share.

Next, Ed Reuter provided the Executive Director's report in which he gave information on the following:

- 911 Goes to Washington: Visited two Senators and four Congressmen discussing topics including the Integrity Act, Kelsey Smith Act, classification of Telecommunicators, and changing the names of PSAPs to ECC.
- HB1342: Met with Rep. Bacon to discuss a bill requiring all dispatchers to have Telephone CPR training.
 Language added to exempt all telecommunicators with EMD training. Bill passed out of committee and in the house.
- Preliminary call count numbers for 2018 were given with a final report to be released in June.
- The Training program continues to grow as more PSAPs take advantage of the training funds available.
- Implemented a mentoring program for new directors that pairs them with a seasoned director who can answer questions, provide advice and help the mentee build their network and relationships.
- Mental Health Focus Group: Working with David Berman of Mental Health America of Indiana who led a focus group of 12 directors/dispatchers representing 6 PSAPs. The goal is to create training opportunities for dispatchers in regard to trauma informed care, self-care and the creation of peer support groups.
- Federal Grant: Deadline for PSAPs to turn in subgrant applications to our office was March 1, 2019. Twenty-nine applications were received with requests totaling \$3.2M. Indiana has been awarded \$2.8M. Working in conjunction with Ritter Strategic Services and 911 Authority to compile requests into application for the state that is due to the Feds on April 2, 2019.
- PSAP Visits: Ed's goal is to visit all 92 counties within three years. He has visited 69 counties (79 PSAPs) so far.
- Sheriff Dwane Ford has been appointed to the board with his term beginning March 14, 2019.

Ed Reuter then recognized the following PSAPs:

- Jackson County: Mary Black, Liz McKinney and Lou Ann Morris with Seymour PD have taken homicide, active shooter and murder-suicide calls.
- Wabash County: Dispatchers Tim Eubank and Mariann Dazey have retired after 26 and 35 years of service, respectively.
- Tippecanoe County: Lafayette PD dispatcher, Antonia Bundy, received national media attention after helping a young boy who called 911 in need of help with his math homework.
- Johnson and St. Joseph Counties: Both PSAPs are housing foster dogs. It provides socialization for the dog while they await to be adopted and comfort to dispatchers in the midst of taking difficult calls.
- Marion County: Indianapolis Fire Department dispatcher Kris Mayfield walked a 10 year old girl through the steps necessary to give CPR to her mom until help could arrive.

Chair Kelly Mitchell along with Ed Reuter then presented at plaque to Sheriff Shane Rekeweg for his service to the board from July 2015-March 2019.

With no other business to come before the Board a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Doug Carter and seconded by Jeff Schemmer. The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

Studa .

Edward A. Reuter, Executive Director

Statewide 911 Board 10 West Market St. Suite 2420 Indianapolis, IN 46204 Office (317) 234-8362 Fax (317) 233-0894

The Honorable Kelly Mitchell Indiana State Treasurer Chair

> Public Meeting Notice of the Statewide 911 Board

The Statewide 911 Board gives notice pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-5(a) that the Board will meet on **Tuesday, March 12, 2019 immediately following the executive session (10 a.m. EST)** to transact such business as may come before it. The meeting will be held at the following address:

LOCATION CHANGE

Market Tower 10 West Market St. 8th Floor Conference Center Indianapolis, IN 46204

Exhibit "B"

Vote Sheet

Board Meeting Date: March 12, 2019

Board Member	Minutes 3/12/19		Adjourn	
Kelly Mitchell	Y	N A	Y	N A
Terri Brooks, ENP	Y	N A	Y	N A
Tracy Brown	Y	N A	Y	N A
Doug Carter	Y	N A	Y	N A
Jim Greeson	Y	N A	Y	N A
Greg Hohlier	Y	N A	Y	N A
Matthew Kelley	Y	N A	Y	N A
Kevin McGuire	Y	N A	Y	N A
Brad Meixell, ENP	Y	N A	Y	N A
Mark Myers	Y	N A	Y	N A
Stephen Reid	Y	N A	Y	N A
Shane Rekeweg	Y	N A	Y	N A
Jeff Schemmer	Y	N A	Y	N A