#### MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF STATEWIDE 9-1-1 BOARD

The March 10, 2020 meeting of the Board of Directors ("the Board") of the Statewide 911 Board was held at the Market Tower Conference Center, located at 10 W Market Street, Indianapolis, Indiana, pursuant to a call and notice, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "A". The meeting notice and agenda were posted in accordance with the Indiana Open Door Law.

Board Members Present In-Person

Kelly Mitchell, ChairStephen CoxBrad MeixellTerri Brooks, ENPDwane FordStephen ReidTracy BrownGreg HohlierJeff Schemmer

Megan Compton Matthew Kelley

Board Members present digitally included:

Kevin McGuire

Also present were:

Ed Reuter, Executive Director Jeff Groh, IDHS Barry Ritter, ENP, Ritter Strategic

Laurel Simmermeyer, Deputy Dir. Jim Halsmer, Word Systems Services

Teresa Russell, Program Mgr./ Ex Asst Eric Hartman, INdigital telecom Delvan Roehling, Board Accountant Lauren Box, Barnes & Thornburg John Jokantas, Hancock County 911 Janyll Stierwalt, Word Systems, Inc.

Craig Bennett, AT&T Gail Karas, Fulton County 911 Ty Wooten, ENP, NENA

Keri Brennan, Datamark

Ryan Locke, ITOS

Staci Dungan, SBOA John Milburn, Hancock County 911 Lori Forrer-Beckman, INdigital telecom Adam Kowalkowski, SBOA

Mark Grady, INdigital telecom

Shane Rekeweg, INdigital

Also present digitally was: Joel McCamley, ENP, 911 Authority

Chair Mitchell called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. and declared a quorum with 10 members present for the purposes of Indiana Code 5-1.5-2-4.

First, the Board considered the minutes for the December 10, 2019 Board meeting. A motion to accept the minutes was made by Jeff Schemmer and seconded by Terri Brooks. The minutes were approved (9-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Next, Staci Dugan with the State Board of Accounts gave an update on the auditing process. Twenty-four counties had ineligible expenses totaling more than \$44K and all have been contacted to fix their violations.

Delvan Roehling then presented the financial report for the period ending December 31, 2019.

A motion to approve ENS Requests for Johnson, Knox and Randolph Counties was made by Tracy Brown and seconded by Dwane Ford. The requests were approved (9-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Shane Rekeweg from INdigital presented an update on the network operations for 2019.

Barry Ritter of Ritter Strategic Services then gave an update on the network build. Barry also shared how his company has been tasked to conduct a circuit analysis of legacy charges being paid by the counties to carriers. This research process will take 12-18 months to complete.

Next, Jeff Schemmer, the Training Committee Chair, brought proposed updates to SOP-ISB-4.06 Training Guidelines and Funding. Matthew Kelley made a motion to accept the changes suggested by the committee and Brad Meixell seconded. The updates were approved (10-0), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Ed Reuter then presented updates to the Eligible Expense Guide for approval. Tracy Brown made a motion to accept the updated Eligible Expense Guide and Dwane Ford seconded. The updates were approved (9-0 with one abstention), a copy of which is attached as Exhibit "B".

Lauren Box, Attorney from Barnes & Thornburg, gave legislative updates concerning HB1235 and HB1198.

Ed Reuter then provided the Executive Director's report in which he gave information on the following:

- 2019 PSAP Annual Data Report: Data reported by the PSAPs was shared concerning expenditures, staffing, policies and call counts.
- Training: 86 agencies in 72 counties have now participated in the training program. The Board is hosting a Training Summit July 14, 15 and 16.
- Federal Grant: The first Federal Grant check was delivered to Dubois County.
- New Board Member: Joel Thacker has been named the State Fire Marshal.

Ed Reuter concluded his report by recognizing the following PSAPs:

- LaPorte County: Denise West, Roscoe Hoffman, Andrew Gale, Mary, Kristen Legros, and Amanda Dorris worked together in helping officer Todd Pliske respond to a woman they observed in distress via cameras they were watching on a pier.
- Jennings County: Sandra Pennycuff assisted officers in locating a hunter lost in Muscatatuck Wildlife Refuge.
- Indiana State Police: Dispatchers with ISP and INDOT assisted State Police in locating a dog running down I-465 after its owner had been in a car accident.
- Randolph County: Brenna Leach, Alisha Pruitt and Aaron Orr assisted officers who took fire when responding to a domestic incident.
- Randolph County: Sarah Pierson and Lindsay Nordyke assisted officer Kyle Thacker who was on a foot pursuit and was fired upon.
- Marion County: Dawn Guthier retired after 41 years of service in public safety.
- Hamilton County: Jacob McWhirter and Amanda Solinski assisted in the births of two different babies over the phone, on the same day, on the same shift!
- Scott County: Gina Bridgewater, a dispatcher, passed away suddenly and was recognized for her service to Scott County.

With no other business to come before the Board a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Dwane Ford and seconded by Terri Brooks. The meeting was adjourned at 11:11 p.m.

Edward A. Reuter, Executive Director

### Statewide 911 Board 10 West Market St. Suite 2420 Indianapolis, IN 46204 Office (317) 234-8362 Fax (317) 233-0894

The Honorable Kelly Mitchell Indiana State Treasurer Chair

Public Meeting Notice of the Statewide 911 Board

The Statewide 911 Board gives notice pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-5(a) that the Board will meet on **Tuesday, March 10, 2020** to transact such business as may come before it. The meeting will be held at the following address:

Market Tower 10 West Market St. 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Conference Center Indianapolis, IN 46204

## Exhibit "B"

### **Vote Sheet**

# **Board Meeting Date:** March 10, 2020

	Board Minutes									Eligib	le Exp	oense			,
Board Member	12/10/19			ENS Requests			SOP-ISB-4.06			Guide			Adjourn		
Terri Brooks	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Tracy Brown	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Doug Carter	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Dwane Ford	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Greg Hohlier	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Matthew Kelley	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Kevin McGuire	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Brad Meixell	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Kelly Mitchell	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	Ν	Α
Mark Myers	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Stephen Reid	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α
Jeff Schemmer	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α	Υ	N	Α